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Interpretive Opinion/No Action Position
Allowing Franchisor Financial Statements to be Current
Within 120 Days of a Franchise Application

The Securities Division of the Maryland Attorney General’s Office (the “Securities
Division”) is issuing this interpretive opinion/no action position regarding COMAR
02.02.08.13C, the Maryland franchise regulation that describes the financial statements a
franchisor must include in a Franchise Disclosure Document required under the Maryland
Franchise Registration and Disclosure Law, MD. ANN. CODE., BUS. REG., §14-201 et seq. (2010
Repl. Vol. and Supp. 2013) (“the Maryland Franchise Law”™).

Background

Under COMAR 02.02.08.13C, financial statements that accompany a franchisor’s
application for initial or renewal registration under the Maryland Franchise Law must be dated no
later than 90 days before the date of the franchisor’s application. As a result, if the date of a
franchisor’s most recent audited financial statement precedes the date of the application by more
than 90 days, the franchisor also must include an interim financial statement, which may be
unaudited, as of a date within 90 days of the date of the registration application. Under COMAR
02.02.08.13B(1), financial statements required in that regulation may be waived by the Securities
Commissioner for good cause shown when a waiver would not be inconsistent with the purposes
of the Maryland Franchise Law or contrary to the public interest or the protection of franchisees.

Effective July 1, 2007, the Federal Trade Commission (“FTC”) adopted an amended
franchise rule, 16 C.F.R. Part 436 (the “FTC Franchise Rule”) with updated federal disclosure
requirements for all franchisors offering franchises in the United States. Under the FTC
Franchise Rule, the FTC extended its longstanding deadline for franchisors to prepare annual
updates to franchise disclosure documents from 90 to 120 days after the close of the franchisor’s
fiscal year end. This extension allowed franchisors an additional 30 days in which to prepare and
include audited financial statements in franchise disclosure documents required under federal
law.

In its Statement of Basis and Purpose supporting the FTC Franchise Rule, the FTC
quoted public comments stating that many franchisors had difficulty obtaining annual audited
financial statements from auditors within the previously-required 90 day period. The FTC noted
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that, because most franchisors use a calendar fiscal year, company auditors are usually
overwhelmed at the beginning of the fiscal year, given the busy tax season. In addition, many
state franchise regulators allow franchisors 120 days to prepare updated disclosures. The FTC
concluded that revising the updating requirement from 90 to 120 days had the potential to reduce
franchisor’s compliance burdens while reducing inconsistencies with state updating policies. See
Federal Trade Commission, Disclosure Requirements and Prohibitions Concerning Franchising,
Statement of Basis and Purpose, 72 Fed. Reg. 15444, 15518 (March 30, 2007).

The Securities Commissioner finds good cause to extend the updating requirement for
franchise financial statements required under the Maryland Franchise Law from 90 days to 120
days. Allowing an additional 30 day period in which to prepare and include financial statements
reduces compliance burdens on franchisors and their auditors. In the Securities Division’s
experience, many franchisors file financial statements that are dated more than 90 days before the
date of the franchise registration application, but less than the 120 days allowed under the FTC
Franchise Rule and the franchise laws of several states. Requiring additional updates to financial
statements in those circumstances causes delays in registration, especially in March and April
when the majority of franchisors file renewal applications. Adopting a 120 day requirement
promotes greater uniformity with federal and state franchise disclosure requirements. The
expansion of the requirement from 90 to 120 days is not inconsistent with the purposes of the
Maryland Franchise Law or contrary to the public interest or the protection of prospective
franchisees.

Interpretive Opinion/No Action Position

Based on the foregoing, and under the authority granted under Section 14-209 of the
Maryland Franchise Law and COMAR 02.02.08.13B(1), the Securities Commissioner will take
no action to require franchisors to include financial statements otherwise required under
COMAR 02.02.08.13 to be current within 90 days of the date of an application for franchise
registration, provided those financial statements are current within 120 days of the date of the
application for franchise registration.

For questions regarding this Interpretive Opinion/No Action Position, please contact
Deputy Securities Commissioner Dale E. Cantone at dcantone@oag.state.md.us.

Dated: November 1, 2013 Melanie Senter Lubin
Securities Commissioner



