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REVISED COLLISION DAMAGE WAIVER DISCLOSURE FORM REQUIRED
TO BE USED EFFECTIVE JULY 1,2018

Attached is a copy of the revised Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) Disclosure Form, which has

been approved by the Consumer Protection Division. This form must be used by car rental and

Peer-to-Peer Car Sharing companies to comply with the CDW disclosure requirements of
Maryland Commercial Law Code Annotated $14-2101. Amendments to this law by Chapter
852, Laws of Maryland 2018, which are effective July I, 2018, require use of the form by
Peer-to-Peer Cæ Shadng Programs that offer collision damage waivers, in addition to the use by
car rental companies.

WHO MUST USE THE CDW DISCLOSURE FORM

Any person in the business of renting passenger cars for less than 180 days in Maryland, or a

Peer-to-Peer Car Sharing Program, who offers a CDV/ agreement, must comply with Maryland's
CDW disclosure law.

HOW TO COMPLY WITH THE CD\ry DISCLOSURE LA\ry

Each caÍ rental and Peer-to-Peer Car Sharing company is responsible for completing,
reproducing, and distributing the revised CDW Disclosure Form. Rental companies and

Peer-to-Peer Car Sharing Programs with more than one location or affiliation must ensure that
each of its locations, franchisees or licensees are in compliance with the law.

A. How to Complete the CDW Disclosure Form

The front page contains standard disclosures each consumer must receive. You may not add to,
delete, or change anything on the front page.
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The second or reverse page must be completed by each company to reflect the specific terms and
conditions that company is offering in its CDW. You must complete this page to state the
following:

1. The cost per day of the CDW you are offering.

2. Mark the boxes provided to indicate the types of damage for which the customer may still be
liable under the rental or car sharing agreement if he or she purchases the CDW.

3. Insert each condition, restriction or exclusion which will void the CDW you offer, using
plain and understandable language. This section allows you to summarize the applicablã
provisions of your rental agreement or cDV/ agreement in plain English.

These conditions, restrictions, and exclusions must be in tlpe at least as large as Brevier or l0
point type, If necessary, add an attached third page.

B.

The disclosure form is being provided to you as two pages in a .pdf format. The form is set up
to be reproduced on the front and reverse sides of a single page. Using several single sideã
pages is acceptable.

After completing the form, you may reproduce it on any color and quality of paper you choose,
providing the text is plainly legible. You may use a paper size other than 8.5 x 11 inches,
provided you do not reduce or enlarge the print or change the page format in any way.

C. Distributing the CDW Disclosure Form to Consumers

You must give a completed copy of the revised CDV/ Disclosure Form to each prospective car
rental or car sharing customer with the rental agreement, or earlier if requested by the customer.
Instruct the customer to read the form and answer any questions about ttr. COW before asking
the customer to sign the rental or car sharing agreement. Give a copy of the Disclosure Form to
the consumer to keep' You may wish to have the consumer sign a siatement that he has received
the CDW disclosure form, but that is not required.

D.

You must revise your standard rental or car sharing agreement to provide the following statutory
language on the face of the rental agreement. The language must be set apart and,in boldface type
at least as large as 10 point þpe,

"Notice: This contract offers, for an additional charge, a collision damage waiver to cover
your responsibility for damage to the vehicle. Before deciding whether to purchase the
collision damage waiver, you. may wish to determine whetñer your own automobile



insurance affords you coverage for damage to the rental vehicle or shared motor vehicle
and the amount of the deductible under your own insurance coverage. The purchase of
this collision damage waiver is not mandatory and may be waived. Maryland law requires
that all Maryland residents' insurance policies with collision coverage automatically eitend
that collision coverage to passenger cars rented or motor vehicles shared by the insureds
named in the policy for a period of 30 days or less.,'

Requests for additional forms should be sent to:

Consumer Protection Division
Attention: CDW Forms
Office of the Attorney General
200 St. Paul Place, 16th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202

Forms may also be downloaded from our website:

Inquiries maybe directed to cDWtbnn(@oas.state.rnd.us or (410) 576-6557


