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Your Right to Your Contact Lens Prescription 

A Maryland college student was away at school in Ohio 
when she ran out of contact lenses. She contacted her oph-
thalmologist to get a copy of her prescription so she could 
order more online. The ophthalmologist refused to give 
her the prescription saying the lenses had to be ordered 
through his office. The consumer paid $50 a box rather 
than the $25 she would have paid to the online supplier, 
even though her prescription was less than a year old.

A Rockville optometrist refused to give a consumer a 
copy of his contact lens prescription for him to reorder 
replacement contact lenses from another retailer.  Since 
the consumer’s prescription was more than a year 
old, the optometrist cited corporate policy that all 
contact lens prescriptions are valid for one year 

and the consumer would need to have an eye exam to 
receive a new contact lens prescription. The consumer 
knew that Maryland law specified that contact lens pre-
scriptions are valid for two years unless there is a clinical 
reason for a shorter period. In this case, the optometrist 
offered no clinical reason for the one-year prescription 
expiration date.

For years, many consumers were unable to get their contact 
lens prescriptions from their eye doctors when they needed 
to order replacement lenses. They had to order the replace-
ment lenses from the eye doctor who wrote the prescription 
and pay whatever price was quoted. Many people found that 
frustrating since they wanted the freedom to shop around 
and take advantage of the potential savings and convenience 
offered by direct-to-consumer contact lens suppliers.

State and federal laws have long given consumers the right 
to obtain their contact lens prescriptions so they can buy 
replacement lenses from any authorized seller. Updates 
were made to the federal rules in 2021 requiring, among 
other things, that eye doctors obtain written confirmation 
from consumers that they received their prescriptions as 
required by law. 

Getting Your Prescription
For each new prescription, you must visit an optometrist 
or ophthalmologist for an eye examination and contact 
lens fitting. Once it’s determined that the lenses fit and 
that no additional follow up is needed, an eye doctor in 
Maryland must:

1.	 Automatically give you a paper copy of the pre-
scription or a copy in digital format (if you elect to 
receive it digitally), whether or not you request it; 

2.	 Have you sign a statement confirming receipt of 
the prescription, unless it’s sent to you digitally;  

3.	Keep records confirming receipt of the prescription 
for five years;
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4.	 Include an expiration date of two years on the 
prescription, unless you’re given a medical reason 
for a shorter expiration date that is also put in 
your record; 

5.	 Include all of the information necessary for the 
prescription to be properly filled, including the 
name of the lens manufacturer, the type of lens, 
the power, base curve, lens size, your name, the 
date the prescription was given to you, the eye 
doctor’s name and contact information, and the 
expiration date of the prescription; and, 

6.	 Verify your prescription information within 8 
hours of a request or provide a copy of the pre-
scription within 40 business hours of a request 
made by another contact lens seller chosen by you.

If you need another 
copy of the prescrip-
tion within the expira-
tion period, at no cost 
to you, the eye doctor 
must give you a copy 
of the prescription 
within 40 business 
hours of your request.

If, after your next examination, your prescription has not 
changed since your last examination, the eye doctor must 
give you the prescription without requiring you to pur-
chase contact lenses or undergo immediate follow-up care.  
Contact lens sales are allowed only in accordance with a 
valid prescription that the seller has received from either 
the patient or the eye doctor, or that the seller has veri-
fied through direct communication with the eye doctor.  
Private label and brand name lenses can be substituted for 
each other only when they are identical lenses made by 
the same manufacturer and are not considered prescription 
alterations by sellers, which are prohibited.  

Maintaining Eye Health
Legally, you have the freedom to buy contact lenses from 
the supplier of your choice. But remember that contact 
lenses are regulated healthcare devices that require proper 
fitting and care. Wearing improperly fitted contact lenses 
may cause harm to your eyes, and you should immediately 
seek an eye examination if there are any changes to your 
vision, including pain or vision loss. You also should see 
your eye doctor for regular eye examinations and advice 
on proper contact lens use to keep your eyes healthy.

Types of Eye Care Providers
Ophthalmologists are medical doctors (M.D.) or osteopath-
ic physicians (D.O.) who diagnose and treat diseases of 
the eye. They can prescribe drugs, perform examinations 
and eye surgery, and prescribe and dispense eyeglasses and 
contact lenses.  

Optometrists hold a doctor of optometry degree (O.D.). 
Though they are not medical doctors, they can examine 
eyes to detect, diagnose, and treat vision problems and eye 
diseases, except for performing eye surgery. They can pre-
scribe and dispense eyeglasses and contact lenses. 

Opticians are not doctors. They fill prescriptions for eyewear 
written by ophthalmologists and optometrists. They may not 
examine eyes or prescribe eyeglasses or contact lenses. 

If you have any questions relating to the prescription or sale 
of contact lenses, contact the Attorney General’s Health 
Education and Advocacy Unit. 
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•	 General Consumer Complaints: 410-528-8662 
Toll-free: 1-888-743-0023  TDD: 410-576-6372 
En español: 410-230-1712 
9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday-Friday 
www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/CPD/

•	 Health Consumer Complaints: 410-528-1840 
Toll-free: 1-877-261-8807  TDD: 410-576-6372 
En español: 410-230-1712 
9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday 
www.marylandcares.org

•	 For information on branch offices in Largo, Salisbury, 
Hagerstown, and a full list of offices across Maryland, visit:  
www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx
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